A Travellerspoint blog

July 2019

Subcarpathian Capital

Ivano-Frankivsk

overcast 15 °C
View Attractions in Luhansk Region, Ukraine & Our Sub-Carpathian Region on Vic_IV's travel map.

The City Hall Square

The City Hall Square

Ivano-Frankivsk that is often called “IF City” or “Frankivsk”/”Franyk” for short, has long attracted us with its special atmosphere. In October 2017, my wife and I were privileged to spend our vacation in that city. We rented an apartment in new districts and managed to pay a visit to many city sights. We enjoyed walking along the city’s colorful streets, visiting the picturesque parks and squares, and admiring its pearls of architecture. In addition, we made a day trip to Yaremche, Ivan-Frankivsk region.

24a1ab40-a955-11e9-8197-1da5625bd70e.jpg2486a930-a955-11e9-8a78-7572c1f9891c.jpg
2475e050-a955-11e9-9271-d1d86a5807ac.jpg242e7710-a955-11e9-9271-d1d86a5807ac.jpg
A view from the City Hall tower

A view from the City Hall tower

In 1687, the city was visited by a French traveler named Francois Daleran, who wrote in his travel diary, "Among all the Transcarpathian cities, Stanislav is the largest and most beautiful one, located on a splendid plain two miles from the Dniester. Its regular fortifications impress with their perfection. There is a magnificent palace built from stone. The city market, buildings and the arsenal significantly distinguish the city among other cities of Ruthenia."

25487290-a955-11e9-80e8-dd9f69feaee0.jpg25536f10-a955-11e9-94e0-1317ef277350.jpg
The City Hall, Ivano-Frankivsk

The City Hall, Ivano-Frankivsk


The City Hall

The City Hall


24fc7570-a955-11e9-9271-d1d86a5807ac.jpg

  • The City Hall built in 1928-1932 is called the most recognizable building of Ivano-Frankivsk. The first version of the city hall was wooden. It was erected in 1666. In that time, it was both the location of the local administration and the observation post. The present city hall building is the fourth version. Interestingly, it was constructed in the form of the Polish military order of Virtuti Militari, as seen from above. The order was awarded to the soldiers and officers of the Polish army of Józef Haller for the elimination of the West-Ukrainian People’s Republic during the Polish-Ukrainian war of 1919. Therefore, the entire City Hall building was built to glorify the victorious Polish Army.

25146a40-a955-11e9-9271-d1d86a5807ac.jpg24865b10-a955-11e9-80e8-dd9f69feaee0.jpg
Inside the CIty Hall

Inside the CIty Hall


24174590-a955-11e9-8893-432783bc3f99.jpg23d9c760-a955-11e9-8197-1da5625bd70e.jpg
A view from the City Hall tower

A view from the City Hall tower


243d6b30-a955-11e9-8893-432783bc3f99.jpg23b5ebb0-a955-11e9-af6e-1d84bc98aec5.jpg

The City Hall located in Market Square (“ploshcha Rynok” in Ukrainian) is the only one in Ukraine built in the style of constructivism that prevailed in the 1930s. In addition, it is the only secular building in Ukraine that has a gilded dome. It was gilded during a large-scale reconstruction of the city center in 2000, consuming 200 g of gold leaf.

24ec96f0-a955-11e9-9113-a324a4e8e696.jpg24fc0040-a955-11e9-94e0-1317ef277350.jpg
Exhibition of wrought-iron sculptures inside the City Hall

Exhibition of wrought-iron sculptures inside the City Hall


249ec510-a955-11e9-80e8-dd9f69feaee0.jpg24e9d7d0-a955-11e9-8197-1da5625bd70e.jpg

The City Hall is the highest building in Ivano-Frankivsk. It is 49.5 m high, which corresponds to the height of a 16-storey apartment house. The construction is a cross, with the intersection of which the tower is raised. We paid a symbolic fee and climbed the spiral staircase to the City Hall tower located at the height of 33 meters. On the way to the observation platform you can see an exhibition of wrought iron works created by the participants of the traditional Blacksmiths’ Festival. The views from the observation platform were really impressive. We were privileged to enjoy good weather as well.

2542a630-a955-11e9-9271-d1d86a5807ac.jpg24c1b660-a955-11e9-8197-1da5625bd70e.jpg
At the entrance to the local lore museum

The City Hall contains the local lore museum dedicated in 1959. The museum uses former casemates and warehouses. The local lore museum has a fairly extensive exposition, including exhibits of the ancient Trypillia culture that is also referred to as the magnificent ancient civilization of Cucuteni – Trypillia. For a symbolic fee, you can view the large collection of exhibits from the history, ethnography and culture of the entire Sub Carpathian region.

  • Cathedral of Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil

Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil Cathedral is the full name of this church. The former Armenian Church housed the workshops of local artists from 1949 until 1971, and then, from 1971 until 1991 - the Religion and Atheism Museum.

Cathedral of Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil, Ivano-Frankivsk

Cathedral of Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil, Ivano-Frankivsk


2918c850-aa01-11e9-9249-71724fa0081a.jpg

Since 1992, the building of the Armenian Church belongs to the Ukrainian Autocephalous Orthodox Church and a replica of the miraculous icon is kept in the church.

2940c2b0-aa01-11e9-b29a-5d66b76fccb0.jpg2939e4e0-aa01-11e9-b2ae-6972b672ba17.jpg

290e4100-aa01-11e9-be1d-6b783118a604.jpg290eb630-aa01-11e9-b2ae-6972b672ba17.jpg
29191670-aa01-11e9-8f00-69c972b3fe1a.jpg2915e220-aa01-11e9-ace6-518ce3a71e30.jpg
Cathedral of Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil

Cathedral of Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil

This church is often called the Armenian Church or simply “the blue church”. The Armenian community used to own the entire city quarter and had a great influence on the city life. The temple got its own miraculous icon. On August 22, 1742, the image of the Mother of God cried with real tears. After that, the icon became famous for many miracles. A lot of people were healed near it. In honour of the miraculous image, the Armenians erected a brick church in the style of European Baroque. The church was built in 1743-1763.
After the Second World War, the Armenians left for Poland, taking the miraculous image of the Virgin, which is now in St.Peter and St.Paul’s Cathedral in the city of Gdansk.

290148b0-aa01-11e9-bbc0-1111562dc23b.jpg29103cd0-aa01-11e9-8715-a3b9ff9d42c2.jpg
Cathedral of Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil

Cathedral of Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil

The church has bell-like domes that distinguish it among other old churches. They were installed after the fire of 1868 to replace the old helmet-like domes that were destroyed completely by the fire. We went inside to admire the interior and to take some pictures. The All-Seeing Eye with golden rays above the entrance looks impressive. The inscription under the image reads, “Who is like God”.
Here are some more pictures of this church

  • The Arts Museum of the Sub Carpathian Region, located in Metropolitan Sheptytsky Square, is a treasury of the fine arts of the region. The exhibition hall is located in the oldest architectural building of the city - the Renaissance Church of the Immaculate Conception of the Virgin Mary that dates back to the 17th century. At one time, the crypt of this temple was a family burial ground of the founders of the city – the Pototskys. In the side crypts, wealthy nobles and priests were buried.

The Arts Museum of the Sub Carpathian Region_1

The Arts Museum of the Sub Carpathian Region_1


65de4f50-aa04-11e9-b29a-5d66b76fccb0.jpg65fecfa0-aa04-11e9-b29a-5d66b76fccb0.jpg
6675fb70-aa04-11e9-870a-d52232526e6b.jpg66adad40-aa04-11e9-b29a-5d66b76fccb0.jpg

66914ba0-aa04-11e9-8cc1-65e2464907a2.jpg662ae8b0-aa04-11e9-870a-d52232526e6b.jpg

The collection of the museum was started in the 1980s. It covers unique exhibits of the Galician iconography, works of classics of the Western Ukrainian painting, works of Ukrainian artists of the second half of the twentieth century, as well as works of Polish, Austrian, German and Italian masters of the 18ty 20th centuries. The museum holds a large collection of contemporary foreign graphics, donated from the exhibitions of the Imprez International Biennale.

66cd9150-aa04-11e9-b29a-5d66b76fccb0.jpg67121460-aa04-11e9-974e-9135c0756ca3.jpg
Visiting the exhibition at the arts museum

Visiting the exhibition at the arts museum

66dc8570-aa04-11e9-942c-fb97adf085c0.jpg
66e07d10-aa04-11e9-b364-cdc05ffdc743.jpg670e1cc0-aa04-11e9-942c-fb97adf085c0.jpg

02dbc760-aa0f-11e9-b962-374f98831f53.jpg670f2e30-aa04-11e9-8cc1-65e2464907a2.jpg

Sacral sculpture occupies a large part of the museum collection. The three figures of angels created by Johann Georg Pinsel himself are the pride of the exposition. And the icon of Holy Paraskeva Friday "starred" in the famous Sergey Paradzhanov’s film "Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors".
This museum has about fifteen thousand exhibits. Here you can see the artefacts of the Galician iconography and Baroque sculpture.

  • Andriy Sheptytsky Square

Sheptytsky Square is considered to be the spiritual and cultural centre of the city. Holy Resurection Cathedral of the Greek Catholic Church is nearby. The former Roman Catholic Cathedral – Virgin Mary’s Cathedral – is located in Sheptytsky Square. This building is the city’s only religious building that is not used for its purpose. It houses the Arts Museum now.

828bb3a0-aa2b-11e9-bfcd-37589a08ddd8.jpg829d66e0-aa2b-11e9-b62a-99e5175ca90b.jpg
The rotunda of the Blessed Virgin Mary

The rotunda of the Blessed Virgin Mary


The statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary

The statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary

The Statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary with a fountain and a rotunda is very impressive, especially at night when it is lit by different lights. The monument was unveiled in 2000. As our guide explained, the modern statue has a certain resemblance to its predecessor - the Baroque statue of Virgin Mary of the sixteenth century that stood downtown.
The monument to Blessed Metropolitan Andriy Sheptytskyi dedicated on August 27, 2015 is unique as well. Blessed Metropolitan Andriy Sheptytskyi is often called “Moses of the Ukrainian people”. A few words about the monument itself. I must say it looks somewhat disproportionate. The statue of Andriy Sheptytsky looks like three-meter high on the background of two children. Although, as they say, the Metropolitan’s natural growth was more than two meters. Therefore, this disproportion is obviously justified. It only emphasizes Metropolitan Sheptytsky's appearance in real life. The monument is half-turned to Holy Resurrection Cathedral. Moreover, it turned out that Sheptytsky sat with his back to the former Blessed Virgin Mary Church and to the huge crucifixion on that church. However, I think that criticism is not appropriate here. Please all, and you will please none. It is just a small observation.

Andriy Sheptytsky Square

Andriy Sheptytsky Square


Andriy Sheptytsky monument

Andriy Sheptytsky monument


82aa8640-aa2b-11e9-adb9-a14778d34f34.jpg8213eb90-aa2b-11e9-ab97-8d8bb8defde3.jpg
Andriy Sheptytsky monument

Andriy Sheptytsky monument

We were also impressed by the bronze Emperor Franz Joseph sculpture that stands at the entrance to Franz Hotel in this square. The monument was unveiled in November 2014. According to the plan, Emperor Franz Josef himself invites guests to stay at this hotel bearing his name.

The statue of Emperor Franz Joseph_1

The statue of Emperor Franz Joseph_1


82868380-aa2b-11e9-bb36-03dc00909801.jpg81dcd600-aa2b-11e9-ab97-8d8bb8defde3.jpg
82d40740-aa2b-11e9-beff-4531e56c5e39.jpg82ca9160-aa2b-11e9-84e9-a53341f89e68.jpg

Here is http://ukrainaincognita.com/ru/3d-panorama/3d-panorama-ploshchi-sheptytskogo-v-ivano-frankivsku (< ERROR: the link title is too long!).

  • Numerous Cathedrals and ChurchesYou cannot help noticing many churches, cathedrals and chapels in this city. We walked past some of them and paid a visit to a couple of them as well.

Transfiguration Cathedral in Passichna District was built in 1998-2015. It is the biggest Greek Catholic church in the city today. Its dimensions and the interior impressed us. As you enter the cathedral, you will see an amazing mosaic of Apostle St.Thaddeus, also known as Saint Jude, to your right. This apostle is known to have evangelized the region of Armenia and Persia I have never come across his name or image at any other church. Here is a a small Youtube video about Transfiguration Cathedral

Transfiguration Church

Transfiguration Church


Transfiguration Church

Transfiguration Church


dfc79500-aa2d-11e9-832b-133b2b10916f.jpgdfd04790-aa2d-11e9-b27a-6d474ca5896d.jpg

df5ec110-aa2d-11e9-bcc8-418a529d30c5.jpgdf32a800-aa2d-11e9-bcc8-418a529d30c5.jpg

Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil Church was built in 1902-1905. It stands at 29 Kniaginin Street. We noticed it from the window of the apartment we rented in Ivano-Frankivsk, and one day paid a visit there. The church stands in a quiet street full of old houses and mansions. The churches stands out for its arcades, the iconostasis, the huge forged crucifix and the gate.

Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil Church

Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil Church


Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil Church

Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil Church


dfe50810-aa2d-11e9-85dc-137a7083d6c8.jpg

St.Dimetrius Church built in 1904 in Pasichna. This old wooden church stands at 6 Nechui-Levytsky Street.

St.Demetrius Church

St.Demetrius Church


ec8d1fc0-aa2e-11e9-a388-516aa659d3df.jpgec855790-aa2e-11e9-a91c-65be7ea7c860.jpg
St.Demetrius Church

St.Demetrius Church

The church is located in the north-western part of the city, in the middle of Pasichna District, to the west of the main road, near residential buildings. The church has one storey, a distinctive silhouette, and original wooden arched windows. There is a small chapel in the park next to this church.

St.Cyril and St.Methodius Church

St.Cyril and St.Methodius Church

St.Cyril and St.Methodius Church in Galician Street The church is simply called the Lemko Church, but not because the Lemkos attend it. It was merely built in the Lemko style in 2011-2016. It was consecrated on May 22, 2016.

Prophet St.Elijah Church near the railway station stands not far from the common grave of soldiers. It was built in 2013-2017. This new church is known for its stained glass windows on both sides. It was consecrated on August 2, 2017, on the Feast Day of the Prophet.
Nativity of Blessed Virgin Mary Church at 63a Viacheslav Chornovol Street.

  • Holy Resurrection Cathedral

We were glad to visit this temple and to see many different people there. The temple is interesting because at various times there was a shrine of practically all Christian denominations. It was built in 1753-1763 by Jesuits, who came to Stanislav in the early eighteenth century. However, in ten years, the Austrian authorities abolished the Order of the Jesuits, and the church was closed. Gradually the building became abandoned. Fortunately, the temple became a parish church of the Greek Catholic Church in 1849.

9030b270-a9eb-11e9-9eb3-d307ffc8ea89.jpg9001da40-a9eb-11e9-8c27-83ba63ae44a6.jpg
Holy Resurrection Cathedral

Holy Resurrection Cathedral


90a63090-a9eb-11e9-ab5e-85943e92e45c.jpg90a19cb0-a9eb-11e9-9afd-91f6b4d2a4a8.jpg
90a9b300-a9eb-11e9-8164-dfa5315d16e5.jpg906f6920-a9eb-11e9-8c27-83ba63ae44a6.jpg

The exterior of the cathedral was built in the style of Austrian and Bavarian Baroque. The forms of the domes were borrowed from Hutsul wooden temples. The interior of the cathedral is made in Byzantine style, and the main decoration is a five-year iconostasis, which was installed in 1901.
The cathedral is the largest temple of Ivano-Frankivsk and continues to be a Greek Catholic shrine. It enjoys such popularity that on holidays and sometimes during the evening service you simply cannot squeeze in because the temple resembles a busy bus in a rush hour.

Holy Resurrection Cathedral

Holy Resurrection Cathedral


Holy Resurrection Cathedral

Holy Resurrection Cathedral

90a51f20-a9eb-11e9-a7bf-d768f2ef84af.jpg
90504860-a9eb-11e9-8c27-83ba63ae44a6.jpg902c93c0-a9eb-11e9-8c27-83ba63ae44a6.jpg

9007a6a0-a9eb-11e9-9eb3-d307ffc8ea89.jpg90a63090-a9eb-11e9-ab5e-85943e92e45c.jpg

  • Adam Mickievicz Square has never changed its name since its inception in the 1870's. In addition to the cozy park, this place attracts by interesting sights. The most important decoration is the monument to the Polish poet Adam Mickiewicz, erected in 1898 on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of his birth, the oldest surviving monument in Ivano-Frankivsk to this day. By the way, Adam Mickiewicz has never been to Stanislav. After the monument had been unveiled, the square became the place of crowded rallies.

Adam Mickiewicz Square

Adam Mickiewicz Square


Adam Mickiewicz Square, Ivano-Frankivsk

Adam Mickiewicz Square, Ivano-Frankivsk


0f81dce0-aa08-11e9-9967-71bf16bc81dd.jpg0f65c960-aa08-11e9-9967-71bf16bc81dd.jpg

In 2012, within the framework of the 100th anniversary of the National Scout Organization of Ukraine, "Plast" monument was unveiled in this square and became the world's first monument to Plastoons.

  • Shevchenko Park is located in Shevchenko Street. The street is one of the oldest city streets and was always considered a recreation area. Shevchenko Street has been known since the seventeenth century, when it led to the Zvirynets Oak Groves, which was locate on the site of the present-day park. The groves were used as hunting grounds by the Potockis and their guests. At the end of the 19th century, the former hunting grounds were cultivated, alleys were laid, and subsequently cascading ponds were dug.

8bbac870-a9f0-11e9-b015-ebe893698abe.jpg8bab1100-a9f0-11e9-9f83-7b5c1d33303a.jpg

8ba348d0-a9f0-11e9-857e-c7fa87e20af1.jpg8b8c3e60-a9f0-11e9-b015-ebe893698abe.jpg
Shevchenko Street

Now Shevchenko Park became a recreational park in 1946. It attracts everybody with picturesque landscapes and attractions. In 1955, the city lake was created on the park territory. It is often called Swan Lake and the Sea of Stanislav. It has a small island with ducks and swans. The island is called “Island of Love”.

At the entrance to Shevchenko Park

At the entrance to Shevchenko Park


9d5cb870-a9f2-11e9-9b52-393f5ff2b8dc.jpg9d678de0-a9f2-11e9-81a2-15363b825ec5.jpg
9ca2b740-a9f2-11e9-97b1-f114462d0077.jpg
9c9b1620-a9f2-11e9-b015-ebe893698abe.jpg0f23cb40-a9f0-11e9-9f83-7b5c1d33303a.jpg
Shevchenko Park

Shevchenko Park

Many newlyweds on their wedding day come to the park to happily touch the "Stone of Love", which was installed here in 2010. The stone was brought from Cana, a small town in Galilee, precisely from where Jesus Christ blessed the brides.

Shevchenko Park

Shevchenko Park


0f23f250-a9f0-11e9-b015-ebe893698abe.jpg0f0790b0-a9f0-11e9-8152-053932a28b2b.jpg

25ecec80-a9f0-11e9-b015-ebe893698abe.jpg0e7a6be0-a9f0-11e9-97b1-f114462d0077.jpg
0e70a7e0-a9f0-11e9-a3d3-39be3c963e85.jpg0ed11760-a9f0-11e9-ab5e-85943e92e45c.jpg

Shevchenko Park is often called the true green heart of the city. We enjoyed the cleanliness, shady alleys, green lawns and flower beds, the calm and quiet atmosphere in this park. Here you can see many unique trees such as Japanese sakura, French tulip tree, Tibetan ginkgo, etc.

  • Pedestrian Precinct

“Stometrivka”, also called “Sotka”, is one of the interesting places of Ivano-Frankivsk which you are unlikely to miss. It is the main pedestrian zone. The locals call it simply "the one hundred meters run distance”. This pedestrian zone is a part of Independence Street. It actually stretches for nearly half a kilometer.

Pedestrian precinct

Pedestrian precinct


b1962290-a9fc-11e9-bb4d-77382c832811.jpgb1922af0-a9fc-11e9-bc4b-57794545e266.jpg

b160e1c0-a9fc-11e9-8a6f-45db8d052869.jpgb2600240-a9fc-11e9-adc1-ffefebddf81b.jpg
b16304a0-a9fc-11e9-bb4d-77382c832811.jpgb14bac10-a9fc-11e9-9d45-cf9eeb438793.jpg

"Sotka" is one of the "liveliest" centers of the city, a place of meetings and walks, street musicians, bookshops, coffee shops, and shopping. Forged sculptures appear here during the annual Blacksmiths’ Festival and add special charm to this place.

b20a4120-a9fc-11e9-90fe-0f15bf796dbf.jpgb22431c0-a9fc-11e9-adc1-ffefebddf81b.jpg
Tree of Happiness

Tree of Happiness


b1edb870-a9fc-11e9-bc4b-57794545e266.jpgb1f0c5b0-a9fc-11e9-bb4d-77382c832811.jpg

The tradition of blacksmiths festival in Ivano-Frankivsk is already 15 years old. The event is organized for the City Day celebrations, during which blacksmiths from different parts of Ukraine and from abroad show their masterpieces and skills. At the end of each festival, the blacksmiths present the city with some kind of forged sculpture such as: "Bouquet of Masters", "The Easter Sun", "The Tree of Happiness", "The Circle of Forged Rings" and others.

b120f290-a9fc-11e9-9dbd-957c862e1e2f.jpgb127d060-a9fc-11e9-841b-cf20a4f61c15.jpg
Craftsmens' Bunch of Flowers

Craftsmens' Bunch of Flowers


b11de550-a9fc-11e9-b1b1-bddbac45fbee.jpgb1ac42a0-a9fc-11e9-adc1-ffefebddf81b.jpg

The forged Tree of Happiness that stands in the pedestrian precinct is one of the smithery gifts of that festival. It looks awful and scary at first. You have to stand and ponder at that masterpiece before you start liking it. A swing is attached to one of the branches, and many children enjoy swinging there. Therefore, that peculiar forged object is never empty in the daytime.

b1cbd890-a9fc-11e9-bc4b-57794545e266.jpgb1b4a710-a9fc-11e9-bb4d-77382c832811.jpg
The fountain in Sicheva Square

The fountain in Sicheva Square


Walking along the pedestrian precinct, or Stometrivka, you will reach Sicheva Square (“People’s Gathering Square”), where you are sure to enjoy viewing the huge fountain, one of the six city fountains that have appeared in recent years and have become a separate tourist attraction. The fountain in Vicheva Square is in the form of a large bowl. In addition, there are other fountains: the Egg Fountain in Market Square, Nadia Hotel fountains, Sheptytsky Square fountain at the statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

  • Bastion Fortress Gallery

We were advised to pay a visit to the Bastion, a fortress gallery, which was built around the remains of the ancient wall of the Stanislav Castle. The bastion includes a terrace for walks and a gallery. There are many souvenir shops, stores with clothes, perfumes, as well as a cafe, a restaurant, a contemporary art gallery. This place is also a public venue for different meetings and exhibitions.
The fortress was built in 1662 on the order of Count Andrzej Potocki, the Governor of Galicia.

2bd601d0-aa28-11e9-8156-a577ff43a8fb.jpg2bcf2400-aa28-11e9-ab97-8d8bb8defde3.jpg

2bc02fe0-aa28-11e9-b9a5-37f1e642ae27.jpg2bc4ead0-aa28-11e9-a467-edbe9003348b.jpg
Bastion Fortress Gallery_2

Bastion Fortress Gallery_2


2bc02fe0-aa28-11e9-9cc9-175b55549f5d.jpg
2b2b42e0-aa28-11e9-8818-d163bd78401e.jpg2b257680-aa28-11e9-a8b6-35b3c769af13.jpg

The architects of the new Bastion Mall successfully combined the remnants of a defensive structure with a new complex, which was built in 2002. This is where you can come across some interesting artistic event. Various exhibitions of arts are constantly represented here: photographs, paintings, graphics, sculptures, etc. We did not see any presentation or festival there; we simply went window shopping and admired the wrought iron sculptures. They were left in the Bastion as reminders of the traditional Blacksmiths’ Festivals.
Bastion Gallery

  • Franko Regional Academic Music and Drama Theater

The building of the theater is among the local examples of the Soviet art, one of the most notable constructivist buildings of the city. It was built in 1980. The largest decor of the Drama Theater is the interior decoration, executed in the Hutsul style.

Franko Theater

Franko Theater


3a7df940-aa0a-11e9-aff3-571a18fc5874.jpg35b6fb50-aa0a-11e9-aff3-571a18fc5874.jpg
Franko Theater

Franko Theater


3570a380-aa0a-11e9-aff3-571a18fc5874.jpg

Memorial Square is located behind the theater and Nadia Hotel in Independence Street. The so-called Stanislav Necropolis is the former city cemetery. It is also called an open-air museum. This is where many prominent inhabitants of the city were buried. The place has the status of a national monument. It is one of the oldest cemeteries in Galicia, where the first burials of date back to 1782.

0e912960-aa0a-11e9-aff3-571a18fc5874.jpg0dfba020-aa0a-11e9-8cc1-65e2464907a2.jpg
0e008220-aa0a-11e9-8b49-c9f43ecdc440.jpgcc597380-aa0a-11e9-8cc1-65e2464907a2.jpg

Unfortunately, in the early 1980s, the necropolis of the city was almost completely destroyed by the authorities. The probable cause of the destruction of the graves at that time could be the graves of 143 Sich riflemen who had fought against the Soviet power. After that, the cemetery was closed and turned into a square. Soon the square was reconstructed to a memorial square. The few remaining graves were restored and memorial plaques were installed. Only a few tombstones have been preserved out of the many thousands.

Ivan Franko monument

Ivan Franko monument


cc56b460-aa0a-11e9-aff3-571a18fc5874.jpg

  • Sich Riflemen Street (“vulytsia sichovykh stril’tsiv” in Ukrainian) is one of the few unique streets where Austrian buildings dating back to 1870-1910 were preserved. There are up to 30 historical and cultural monuments in this street. The most characteristic architecture of the city is represented in this street. Almost every building has its own interesting story. Ivan Franko, in honor of whom the city was named, stayed briefly in one of the buildings in this street.

The city is often called “the Pearl of Western Ukraine”. It is full of different monuments and dozens of memorial plaques, many of which we saw on our way during our walks.

  • We passed the Afghan War memorial complex every day on our way downtown. The monument to the soldiers who fell in the 1978-1989 Afghan War stands in the former Pioneers’ Park (now Internationalists’ Park) that occupies an area of about four hectares.

84935cc0-aa26-11e9-9568-45bc1fae0224.jpg8463e850-aa26-11e9-80df-cf5e1c1dbb85.jpg
The Afghan war memorial

The Afghan war memorial


The Afghan war memorial

The Afghan war memorial


8488d570-aa26-11e9-87b0-d93f7003d742.jpg8445d900-aa26-11e9-bfb9-437b3be3e630.jpg

83f1eca0-aa26-11e9-a8b6-35b3c769af13.jpg83f5e440-aa26-11e9-8818-d163bd78401e.jpg

You can see an almost three-meter-high granite sculpture. There is a 30-ton rock on the pedestal. The rock contains a golden bas-relief of a dying officer who is a live target under the gun of a sniper rifle. The officer put his hand above his wound that pierced his heart. The officer is dropping his machine-gun and is about to fall. There is an inscription in golden letters in Ukrainian at the foot of the monument. The inscription reads, “To the residents of Sub Carpathian region who fell in the Afghan War”. There are memorial plaques at the foot of the monument. The plaques contain the names of the fallen soldiers and officers and their dates of life. The back of the monument is impressive as well. It contains four gilded hands lifted upwards.
Approaching the monument, you will see several stones with painted inscriptions with the names of Afghan cities, where the most brutal battles with the participation of the Ukrainians took place: Kabul, Kandahar, Salang, and Jalalabad.
The memorial complex was unveiled on May 19, 2009, when the 20th anniversary of the withdrawal of the Soviet troops from Afghanistan was observed.

844e3d70-aa26-11e9-9452-bb0c5d5fba70.jpg83ad1b70-aa26-11e9-a8b6-35b3c769af13.jpg
St.George's Chapel

St.George's Chapel


84445260-aa26-11e9-98d3-2f536372158d.jpg

There is a Greek Catholic Church behind the Afghan War memorial complex. The church is St.George's Chapel built in 2002-2008 and consecrated on May 17,2008. The chapel is attached to St.Jehoshaphat's Seminary.
The War Obelisk stands in the area where we rented an apartment. The Obelisk was built in honour of the 25th anniversary of the liberation of the city from the Nazi invaders. Its height is 26 m. The obelisk was crowned a five-pointed star, which was removed after the independence of Ukraine was proclaimed.

  • Urban Space Civic Restaurant

This is where the public life rages: various presentations, conferences, film shows, and even radio events are held. People come here not only to eat, but also to talk, to discuss ideas, to meet the like-minded people, to read a book, to buy something in the store, which is open at the restaurant, or to organize some interesting and very necessary event for the local community.

103108a0-aa08-11e9-9206-2dbbdeb90547.jpg10312fb0-aa08-11e9-9d09-01cdfc8db999.jpg
10312fb0-aa08-11e9-8b49-c9f43ecdc440.jpg0f878230-aa08-11e9-8cc1-65e2464907a2.jpg

This restaurant has become a successful example of uniting indifferent city residents around a common goal. Around 100 socially active people became the funders of this restaurant and have united idea of qualitative development of the urban space. The uniqueness of the plan is that the profit of the restaurant is directed at realization of public projects of Ivano-Frankivsk.

  • Potockis Palace

The palace was built by Andrzej Potocki in the second half of the 17th century (1672-1682) and was a family castle. It is a monument of architecture, but, unfortunately, it is now in a rather neglected state.

a9ed9340-aa22-11e9-a8b6-35b3c769af13.jpga9bdd0b0-aa22-11e9-9be5-039e7487c8f6.jpg
Potockis Palace

Potockis Palace


a9dace90-aa22-11e9-ba17-f7e309075a79.jpga93ba860-aa22-11e9-8413-edfb08a2801e.jpg

At the beginning of the 19th century, the last owner sold the residence because of financial problems. A military hospital was arranged in the palace, and the planning of all the buildings was thoroughly changed. This military medical institution can be considered one of the oldest in Europe. The military hospital functioned here until 2004. For the time being, the future of the palace is not known. The civic activists, members of #Frankinsk That Should Be Preserved want to turn the neglected palace into a history museum. Live and see!
Potocki Palace is located at 5 Hospital Street. As of today, only the stone palace gate decorated with knight symbols has been well preserved. The gate is in a good condition, but it is permanently closed. There are also two old wings to the left and to the right of the baroque gates, which survived almost unchanged. The wall in Hospital Street is mostly authentic.

a9e248a0-aa22-11e9-b33b-cb35f586fe57.jpga9dcca60-aa22-11e9-bd5a-29820a896a63.jpg
a9d131a0-aa22-11e9-aac0-270163a763c4.jpg
a9de02e0-aa22-11e9-9d96-e38ed9face7f.jpga9624330-aa22-11e9-8413-edfb08a2801e.jpg

We saw the windows of one of the buildings in this street that were covered with portraits of the Potockis and other rulers who had lived and stayed in this city:
1) Andrjey Potocki (+1692);
2) Stanislav Potocki (1659-1683);
3) Kateryna Kossakivska (1720-1803, “the Great Wise Lady”, who was a city mayor for 30 years;
4) Ferenc II Rakoczi (1676-1735), the king of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth;
5) Jan III Sobieski (1629-1696).
The portraits were installed in February 2017 within the framework of «Heroes of forgotten houses" initiative of #Frankivsk That Should Be Preserved.
The monument to Petro Prokopovych (1775-1850), a famous Ukrainian beekeeping scientist, the founder of rational frame beekeeping, is in the courtyard of the Potockis Palace.

a9e2e4e0-aa22-11e9-90e6-b72c7fbdff06.jpga9c068c0-aa22-11e9-91f7-8908bb2ba347.jpg
Petro Prokopovych monument

Petro Prokopovych monument


  • The railway station

The railway station of Ivano-Frankivsk was built in 1866. The cast date "1866" can be seen on some columns of the platform shed.

The railway station_6

The railway station_6


0f0bfb80-aa06-11e9-9787-e5d3d5633be4.jpg0f4f6d20-aa06-11e9-9967-71bf16bc81dd.jpg
The railway station

The railway station


0ecb4900-aa06-11e9-870a-d52232526e6b.jpg0f4f6d20-aa06-11e9-9967-71bf16bc81dd.jpg
The railway station

The railway station

The elements of the Moorish style were used here: narrow semi-circular windows, ribbed columns. In 1866, first track from Lviv was laid through Ivano-Frankivsk to the city of Iasi in Romania. It is interesting to know that the railway station itself was the first building in Ivano-Frankivsk, which was lit by electric lamps. It is worth paying attention to the interior arrangement of the main hall, especially the large girandole chandelier in the center.

  • Buses and trolleybuses

There are nine trolleybuses routes in the city now: No.1,2,3,4, 6,7,8,9,10 (the fare is UAH 2.00);
City buses
- city buses No.22, 27 38, 40;
- route buses ("marshroutka": No.21,23,24,25,26, 29,30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 39, 41, 42 43, 44, 47, 48, 49 (the bus fare is UAH 4.00).

Central Market bus stop

Central Market bus stop


One of the busy streets

One of the busy streets


cd2ca330-aa24-11e9-8413-edfb08a2801e.jpgcd4d4a90-aa24-11e9-9be5-039e7487c8f6.jpg
The railway station transportation hub

The railway station transportation hub


cde089e0-aa24-11e9-8818-d163bd78401e.jpgcd20e360-aa24-11e9-a8b6-35b3c769af13.jpg

I did not see any difference between the city buses and route buses. For us, it was important to get to our destination.
All their routes are represented on the Internet (in Ukrainian). Also, you can find places using the GPS monitoring (in Ukrainian) GPS monitoring of Ivano-Frankivsk
However, we simply inquired at the bus stop how to get to wherever we needed. We used buses 33, 38 and 26 and found them fast and convenient.

divider_41.JPGdivider_41.JPGdivider_41.JPG

Posted by Vic_IV 23:59 Archived in Ukraine Comments (0)

Closer to the Mountains

Yaremche, Ivano-Frankivsk region

overcast 12 °C
View Attractions in Luhansk Region, Ukraine & Our Sub-Carpathian Region on Vic_IV's travel map.

During a stroll along Liberty Street

During a stroll along Liberty Street

We decided to allow one day for a day trip to Yaremche, the well-known Ukrainian resort that we had visited in our childhood. Yaremche is a famous resort town located in the central part of the Ukrainian Carpathians, at the mountain ranges called the Chornogory and the Gorgans, along the Prut River. The town lies at the altitude of 585 m above sea level. The distance to Yaremche from Ivano-Frankivsk is about 40 miles. In fact, Yaremche includes two villages - Dora and Yamna. They are located respectively higher and lower along the Prut River and are parts of the resort.

6cb31a70-ac7c-11e9-84ac-95ebcefac0c3.jpg6c8330d0-ac7c-11e9-9ee8-9ff9c0ea7bbe.jpg
A view of the countryside

A view of the countryside


6c7e75e0-ac7c-11e9-b5fd-d785cd1cc00f.jpg6c7c04e0-ac7c-11e9-876c-098103f38150.jpg

The first written mention of Yaremche is dated 1787. According to a legend, a poor peasant named Yarema settled here, and in the long run, the place was called after him. All the tour guides will gladly tell you many stories about the town that became a popular resort as far back as in the middle of the 19th century. Residents of Warsaw, Krakow, Lviv and other cities of Austria-Hungary used to come here for some treatment and relaxation.

6adf44d0-ac7c-11e9-84ac-95ebcefac0c3.jpg6ac728f0-ac7c-11e9-b669-2b1013a55716.jpg
During a stroll along the main street

During a stroll along the main street


6a4a57d0-ac7c-11e9-876c-098103f38150.jpg
6adf44d0-ac7c-11e9-84ac-95ebcefac0c3.jpg6a4af410-ac7c-11e9-b669-2b1013a55716.jpg
During a stroll along the main street_Friendship monument

During a stroll along the main street_Friendship monument


Friendship monument

Friendship monument

Today Yaremche is a small town, one of the most famous mountainous climatic and ski resorts in Ukraine, the tourist center of the Sub Carpathian area and the center of "green” tourism. The city is clean, tidy and, as our tour guide assured us, it is full of kind and friendly people. Although, truth be told, the traffic is very busy in the main street. It was hard to walk there, not because of the distance, but because of the merciless exhaust gases from hundreds of cars and other vehicles.

A bridge across the River Prut

A bridge across the River Prut


685f29a0-ac7c-11e9-91da-452dc7e37fbb.jpg69e44300-ac7c-11e9-9490-cf5d00489c57.jpg
6c2e5a10-ac7c-11e9-b45f-b97690dae48a.jpg6bdcb7a0-ac7c-11e9-84ac-95ebcefac0c3.jpg

Liberty Street is the main town street. It has recently been asphalted. However, the sidewalks leave much to be desired. They are totally unavailable at many places. In other words, we should have hired a taxi instead of walking. Many side streets and paths go deep into the mountains. Most of the houses are private cottages and homesteads.

The RIver Prut_1

The RIver Prut_1


6c4368b0-ac7c-11e9-b5fd-d785cd1cc00f.jpg
6c51e7a0-ac7c-11e9-b45f-b97690dae48a.jpg6c8d42f0-ac7c-11e9-9490-cf5d00489c57.jpg
6c5df590-ac7c-11e9-876c-098103f38150.jpg

During our walk along the main street, we passed the bus terminal and the railway station located in the center. We were glad to visit the biggest waterfall - Probiy (“Breakthrough”) Waterfall. It is one of the most interesting natural wonders of Yaremche and also one of the most picturesque and popular waterfalls in the Carpathians. The waterfall is eight meters high. You can cross the river using a pedestrian bridge that was erected at the height of 12 meters above the river surface. It was great to stand on the bridge, to listen to the roaring waters of the waterfall and to ponder. It is hard to take a picture there since there are always many tourists here. We stood at the bridge and watched this full-bodied waterfall for some time.

68bf9920-ac7c-11e9-b5fd-d785cd1cc00f.jpg68cd06a0-ac7c-11e9-9ee8-9ff9c0ea7bbe.jpg
A souvenir market_5

A souvenir market_5


68b90970-ac7c-11e9-b45f-b97690dae48a.jpg6857af90-ac7c-11e9-aa4a-252d72570b3e.jpg
683a6390-ac7c-11e9-9490-cf5d00489c57.jpg68553e90-ac7c-11e9-a86a-79474ba8b970.jpg

It was no fun to visit the numerous souvenir markets since we had no shopping aims. The choice of goods is impressive there; the shopkeepers have angelic patience, a great sense of humour and are very friendly. However, you have to be a well-to-do traveller to be able to buy what you like.

6b3a8430-ac7c-11e9-84ac-95ebcefac0c3.jpg6b4c5e80-ac7c-11e9-84ac-95ebcefac0c3.jpg
6a19aae0-ac7c-11e9-9490-cf5d00489c57.jpg
Downtown Yaremche

Downtown Yaremche


6c17c4d0-ac7c-11e9-9ee8-9ff9c0ea7bbe.jpg6c7c04e0-ac7c-11e9-876c-098103f38150.jpg

The town has many other sights, among them:

  • the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary;
  • the Church of St. John the Merciful with the bell tower;
  • Prophet St. Elijah Church;
  • St. Andrew’s Monastery;
  • the monastery of the Studite Charter;
  • St. Vincent Convent of the Sisters of Charity;
  • the Museum of Ethnography and Ecology of the Carpathian Region;
  • two souvenir market of folk art of Hutsul Land. The Hutsul Bazaar is the main souvenir market Yaremche. Many wooden items are sold here: carved vases and caskets, souvenir tops, mugs and saucers, as well as Hutsul blankets made of felt wool, warm woolen socks, and embroidered towels. You can also buy dried mushrooms, honey, nuts and Carpathian herbs tea.
  • three picturesque waterfalls;
  • two springs of medicinal mineral waters;
  • Metropolitan Andriy Sheptytsky Museum;
  • a menagerie with deer and roe deer. This mini-zoo is located in Hrushevsky Street. Here you can see (and also feed) deer, roe deer, wild boars and other animals. You can buy food at the entrance to the zoo.
  • “Hutsul Land” unique wooden restaurant built in 1959 without any nails. The old restaurant looks quite neglected now, and I doubt if it is still open.

6b9c5340-ac7c-11e9-9ee8-9ff9c0ea7bbe.jpg6b645350-ac7c-11e9-876c-098103f38150.jpg
Old Hutsul restaurant

Old Hutsul restaurant


Old abandoned restaurant

Old abandoned restaurant


Memorial plaque at Hutsul Land Restaurant in honour of Architect Bodnaruk who designed and built this restaurant in 1959

Memorial plaque at Hutsul Land Restaurant in honour of Architect Bodnaruk who designed and built this restaurant in 1959

This building later became an architectural monument of national importance, one of the symbols of Yaremche;

  • Dovbush Trails with a monument Oleska Dovbush and the oprichoks.

6a070d40-ac7c-11e9-876c-098103f38150.jpg69f3d360-ac7c-11e9-b5fd-d785cd1cc00f.jpg
Dovbush Trail

Dovbush Trail


69f3d360-ac7c-11e9-b5fd-d785cd1cc00f.jpg69c2b140-ac7c-11e9-876c-098103f38150.jpg
695410f0-ac7c-11e9-9490-cf5d00489c57.jpg69990930-ac7c-11e9-84ac-95ebcefac0c3.jpg
Dovbush Trail

Dovbush Trail


Oleksa Dovbush (1700-1745) was a famous Ukrainian outlaw, the leader of the opryshoks (“mountain rebels”), the proud knights of the Carpathian Mountains - those people, whom Ivan Franko, a famous Ukrainian poet described, “Enslaved, beaten, subjected, not being able to find justice anywhere, they ran into the woods, to the mountains, stuck to the same group of desperate people, even though they felt a threat of death everywhere. Although under threat, they could at least live freely, and even managed to get revenge on the abusers.”
Oleksa Dovbush became a folk hero during his lifetime, and he is often compared to Robin Hood.

690072b0-ac7c-11e9-9490-cf5d00489c57.jpg695b63f0-ac7c-11e9-b45f-b97690dae48a.jpg
Dovbush Trail

Dovbush Trail


Dovbush Rocks

Dovbush Rocks


6912e940-ac7c-11e9-b45f-b97690dae48a.jpg69dcf000-ac7c-11e9-b5fd-d785cd1cc00f.jpg

  • Day trips to Vorokhta, Mykulychyn, Tatariv, Zhenets Waterfall, Mount Hoverla, Lake Nesamovyte, Verkhovyna, Bukovel, etc.

Enjoy your stay in Yaremche!

6aee6000-ac7c-11e9-9490-cf5d00489c57.jpg68c405f0-ac7c-11e9-95a2-458ec8d5784d.jpg
6bf5bde0-ac7c-11e9-84ac-95ebcefac0c3.jpg69f6b990-ac7c-11e9-84ac-95ebcefac0c3.jpg
1325c5f0-e7cc-11ec-a824-11873e8dd3e6.jpg1325c5f0-e7cc-11ec-a824-11873e8dd3e6.jpg

Posted by Vic_IV 04:22 Archived in Ukraine Comments (1)

Sites in Donetsk Region

Sloviansk, Bakhmut

sunny 15 °C
View An Internship in the United States & Things to Do in Ukraine & Attractions in Luhansk Region, Ukraine & My Impressions of Germany on Vic_IV's travel map.

Central Square fountain

Central Square fountain

Sloviansk is a well-known city in Donetsk region, Ukraine. I have visited it on business more than once. It is convenient for us to take an express train to Kyiv from Sloviansk railway station. It was also great to arrive to Sloviansk railway station from our vacation in Myrhorod since it was a big shortcut for us. We did not have to travel north to Kharkiv and catch a bus home.

c2e43100-8e85-11e9-ba9e-13cdec6f58f7.JPG

One day we had our lunch at Butleggers Restaurant and enjoyed the meals and the ambience there. We also went for a walk downtown and saw a number of interesting places in Shevchenko Street, University Street and Torska Street. We visited the Local Lore Museum as well.

At Store 20 Inn

At Store 20 Inn

There is a nice pub near Shevchenko monument. The pub is called "The Twentieth Store Area Pub".

c7d8a9f0-b358-11e9-b7bc-dd72bebe071c.jpgbaf3bae0-b358-11e9-94f7-f51ae69567fc.jpg
Central Square in Sloviansk

Central Square in Sloviansk


baa65e30-b358-11e9-b1f7-b9415f06bb0b.jpgbaa85a00-b358-11e9-a785-2dbf32641bbb.jpg

The fountain at the Central Square is a nice place for relaxation and a favourite place for selfies and photo sessions. It dates back to Soviet times. It has chased images of marching soldiers, a horseman and a fighting man, as well as a hammer and a sickle at the base of each fountain. Nobody really cares what the name of the fountain is. I would call it Fighters Fountains given all the ever-fighting images.
One evening we had a great dinner at Miata Restaurant ("Mint Restaurant") whose entrance is located just opposite the fountain.

bab10c90-b358-11e9-94f7-f51ae69567fc.jpgbabdb6c0-b358-11e9-b449-ad2047311b4e.jpg
aacf3360-b367-11e9-a3aa-7956ec19507e.jpg
c7d8a9f0-b358-11e9-b7bc-dd72bebe071c.jpgba228830-b358-11e9-813d-730512392ff8.jpg
Central Square fountain

Central Square fountain

The city got its name in 1784. It used to be a border fortress called Thor. The fortress was founded in 1645 to protect the northern territories from the raids of the Crimean Tatars. In 1887, Anton Chekhov compared Sloviansk with “the Myrhorod of Nickolay Gogol”. Locals say that Sloviansk is a beautiful and green city that gladly welcomes its guests and tourists. There are unique medical lakes, as well as the legendary Mount Karachoune and the landscape park of Sloviansk Reesort. Besides, you can have a day trip from Sloviansk to Sviatohorsk, where the main shrine of Donetsk region - Sviatohorsk Laura (a merited monastery) – is located.

73a81d30-8e86-11e9-bd5c-fbfd77d25eec.JPG

April 19, 2011 is a special date in the city history. On that day, the salt lakes resort of Sloviansk became a resort of national importance. The resort specializes in balneotherapy mud and sulphide mud treatment. They use the mud that covers the bottom of the three salt lakes. There are three salt lakes in the city: Salty Lake, Lake Rapne and Lake Weiss. Rapunet (Ripne Lake) is the most popular among tourists. Its popularity was ensured by its convenient location and excellent salt ratio in the water (salt does not pinch the eyes and does not leave white spots on the body after bathing). It is easy to stay on the water in this lake, therefore, if you come with a child, then it is easy to teach him/her swimming here. At the same time, Lake Weiss is not so picturesque, but the strength of the medicinal properties of the mud attracts many tourists every day. Salt extraction is not conducted in Sloviansk lakes, but the lake dirt is regularly extracted for the needs of sanatoriums.
Kron’s Monopoly Grounds and Pub is at 67 Tosrka Street, near the riverbank. Tel. 066 664 840. The pub started in May 2019 and is a promising spot having a huge space for different concerts and parties. Here is a nice photograph: a bird’s eye view of Kron’s Veranda and a nice Krom's Monopoly Company invitation video for you.

Kron's veranda pub

Kron's veranda pub


bb143b30-b358-11e9-b217-013ccd0bb513.jpgbaa573d0-b358-11e9-87bd-87c0a89361ea.jpg

7d1fc760-8e85-11e9-876a-4d8038c5b3f7.JPG

The city was occupied by Nazi invaders from October 28, 1941 until February 17, 1943 and from March 1, 1943 until September 6, 1943. September 6 is celebrated as City Liberation Day.

The monument to the soldier's mother

The monument to the soldier's mother


Mother monument inscription

Mother monument inscription


We saw an interesting monument to the Mother in front of the huge apartment house in Liberty Street. The inscription at the foot of the Mother sculpture reads,
May this place be sacred,
May the memory not become short,
People in Sloviansk will remember forever
The widow and the mother of a soldier.

bb859aa0-b358-11e9-bb68-bf64ec412e66.jpgbb620d10-b358-11e9-965a-b97dbba977f8.jpg
Ukraine Hotel and Atmosphere Pizzeria (the best one in town) in Shevchenko Street

Ukraine Hotel and Atmosphere Pizzeria (the best one in town) in Shevchenko Street


Liberty Street apartment house and supermarket

Liberty Street apartment house and supermarket


bb0d8470-b358-11e9-94f7-f51ae69567fc.jpgbb2be1e0-b358-11e9-b217-013ccd0bb513.jpg

The city is a district center. The city was famous for its colour pencils that were manufactured here. Now only postcards remind us of the past industrial glory.
In addition, Sloviansk ceramics has been known for years. Here you can visit the local lore museum, two picture galleries, five Orthodox churches, the monument to the victims of 1932-1933 famine and many other monuments. Website: The City of Sloviansk.

Chernobyl memorial in Sloviansk

Chernobyl memorial in Sloviansk


74a9aeb0-8e86-11e9-876a-4d8038c5b3f7.JPG74709d50-8e86-11e9-876a-4d8038c5b3f7.JPG

73e26710-8e86-11e9-ba9e-13cdec6f58f7.JPG7d142ea0-8e85-11e9-9631-ed71b7a87b19.JPG

Like in any big city of Ukraine, there is Shevchenko Street and Shevchenko monument in Sloviansk.

At Shevchenko monument in Sloviansk

At Shevchenko monument in Sloviansk

Shevchenko bust

Shevchenko bust

Many historical houses have survived

Many historical houses have survived

Visiting the local lore museum in Sloviansk: at the entrance to the museum

Visiting the local lore museum in Sloviansk: at the entrance to the museum


Coat-of-arms of Sloviansk at the local lore museum

Coat-of-arms of Sloviansk at the local lore museum


One day my colleague and I allowed some time for visiting Sloviansk Local History Museum. The museum was founded in 1974 in an old merchant mansion, that had been built in the late 19th century. The modern has eleven halls, and its exhibition consists of four sections.
Nature Section has one of the best natural science collections among museums in Donetsk region. You can see features of the landscape, climate, phenology, flora and fauna of the region, and the Holy Mountains National Nature Park. We enjoyed looking at the collection of stuffed animals and birds, the herbarium of unique species of plants.

0ee35000-8e8a-11e9-876a-4d8038c5b3f7.jpg0f8ed240-8e8a-11e9-9127-bddb24d8728e.jpg

0f8c8850-8e8a-11e9-918f-8363f0d26eb1.jpg0f8adaa0-8e8a-11e9-b30c-4935708d607f.jpg

Archaeology Section has unique exhibits dating back to the copper and bronze period (3rd-2nd millennium B.C.), a collection of copper and silver coins of the Golden Horde (13th-14th centuries). The bronze medallion of the 13th century is the pride of the museum.
History Section tells us about the time of the settlement of the province, the development of crafts, industry, and about the cultural heritage.

0fb5e240-8e8a-11e9-9b67-e19e0628ca2e.jpg
Visiting the local lore museum in Sloviansk:  the old coat-of-arms of Sloviansk

Visiting the local lore museum in Sloviansk: the old coat-of-arms of Sloviansk


0f936620-8e8a-11e9-b94d-a1c718cf9289.jpg

In addition, there is a separate exhibition dedicated to Sloviansk ceramics. It presents the main stages of the development of ceramic production in Sloviansk District, modern technology of making ceramic products, samples of renown ceramic products, works of local ceramic artists, materials for holding the All-Ukrainian Symposiums of Ceramics in Sloviansk. Here is a small video about the museum: Museum exhibits

City bus terminal, Sloviansk

City bus terminal, Sloviansk


b9fe5e60-b358-11e9-813d-730512392ff8.jpgbaac2a90-b358-11e9-bfdf-8d9ec563b9b5.jpg
At the River Torets embankment

At the River Torets embankment

Bakhmut is a city in the northeast of Donetsk region, Ukraine. The city was founded in 1571 and is one of the oldest Cossack cities in Ukraine. It received municipal rights in 1783.In 1924, Bakhmut was renamed into Artemivsk to honor Artem, the revolutionary leader of Ukrainian Communists. On September 23, 2015 the deputies of the city council voted for returning the historical nameto the city. On February 4, 2016 by the Resolution of the Ukrainian Parliament the city got back its historical name - Bakhmut.

The city entry roadside marker

The city entry roadside marker


The city is located right in the middle of the ancient Bakhmut Trail connecting Kiev and Eastern Ukraine.Bakhmut is center of a district in Donetsk region. It is located on the River Bakhmutka about 55 miles awayfrom Donetsk, the administrative center of the region and the Capital of the Donets Basin. The city population is about 80 thousand inhabitants.

09567bb0-a791-11e9-a50e-59bf757806ec.jpg092fe0e0-a791-11e9-9ea7-1563a5c5cdb8.jpg
On the way to the winery

On the way to the winery


The city is famous for its huge sparkling wine factory called Artemivsk Winery. We all enjoy its quality products. However, it had never occurred to me I could do a winery tour, until my American friend Gordon found out about that winery and wished to look at it on the way from Donetsk airport to Luhansk, that was his destination then.

Therefore, I called the winery and reserved a tour for the three of us: our driver, Gordon and myself. During the tour that lasted for two and a half hours, we learnt many new things about sparkling wine productionand took lots ofpictures and did wine tasting in the special Bacchus Room. It was a great experience and I am glad we did it!

09297840-a791-11e9-8474-d15129a19988.jpg08d7d5d0-a791-11e9-a50e-59bf757806ec.jpg
Bacchus bas-relief over the entrance to the winery

Bacchus bas-relief over the entrance to the winery


08b384f0-a791-11e9-a959-c1879f369fb6.jpg080b8520-a791-11e9-a2dd-53ce9f3ab1d6.jpg
08b13b00-a791-11e9-9ea7-1563a5c5cdb8.jpg08adb890-a791-11e9-8610-5ba3a01e8ed6.jpg
During the winery tour

During the winery tour


08959cb0-a791-11e9-a959-c1879f369fb6.jpg
088cc310-a791-11e9-8474-d15129a19988.jpg088c74f0-a791-11e9-9ea7-1563a5c5cdb8.jpg

08575b30-a791-11e9-8610-5ba3a01e8ed6.jpg

Artemivsk Winery is famous for being the world’s only winery located 72 meters below ground. The wine production takes places deep below ground in the special microclimate of former gypsum tunnels.
Prussian engineer Edmund Farke, who built several factories in Bakhmut, used localdeposits of gypsum for development of production of plaster of Paris (called “alebaster” here) at the end ofthe 19th century. Later, the gypsum tunnels were neglected and flooded. They were only rediscovered after the Second World War. On June 29, 1950, a new winery was dedicated. The unique microclimate of gypsum tunnels was used for successful production of many wine sorts.
The winery premises boast stable annual temperature of +12+14 degrees Centigrade and favorable humidity of 88-90%. The winery uses wine materials from Crimea as well as from Ukraine’s southern regions: Odessa Region, Kherson Region and Mykolayiv Region. They use the French method of sparkling wine production. The wine is aged for at least a year to become asparkling wine. Some white wines are aged for three years or more.
You can read wise words of Omar Khayyam about wine on the walls of the factory corridors.
Artemivsk sparkling wine is exported into thirty countries of the world. We were told that Artemivsk Winery was the world’s only winery that produced Red Brut – a very special and expensive sort of sparkling wine.

During the winery tour

During the winery tour


407b97e0-a798-11e9-be0f-7db8fdb3c283.jpg
Glory to Bacchus

Glory to Bacchus

After the winery tour we were invited into the Wane Tasting Hall - a nice hall with a sculpture of Bacchus and his Graces. The wine maker told us about different wines and the process of their production.There was no menu on the table. We were simply served with different wines, starting with what they callwine material (white) and ending with red brut sparkling wine.

Bacchus - the Roman God of Wine - is duly revered here. You can see two of his sculptures: a bas-relief overthe entrance to the production premises and his sculpture with two female assistants in the Wine Tasting Hall.I especially admired the latter one. We had our pictures taken in front of it after the wine tasting session wasover.

The winery’s products became well known all over the world after 1972 when the winery started its export program. Germany, Russia, United States, Canada and Australia are its biggest trade partners now. World connoisseurs of wines value the products of Artemivsk Winery. These wines have won a lot of prestigious international prizes, among them:

- the Prize of the International Trade Leaders’ Club;
- the Golden Star “The Arc of Europe” for mastership and quality;
- the Best Sparkling Wine of Eastern Europe - the VITeff’s award.

095199b0-a791-11e9-8474-d15129a19988.jpg08917e00-a791-11e9-a50e-59bf757806ec.jpg

At present, the winery produces over a dozen of sorts of sparkling wines:

  • - White Brut Zero;
  • - White Extra Brut;
  • - White Brut;
  • - White Dry;
  • - White Semidry;
  • - White Semisweet;
  • - Muscat Brut;
  • - Muscat Semidry;
  • - Muscat Semisweet;
  • - Muscat Rose Semisweet;
  • - Rose Brut;
  • - Rose Semidry;
  • - Red Brut;
  • - Red Semisweet.

We simply walked down the tunnel and soon we were told we were walking at the depth of 72 meters below ground. We did not visit all the production premises. The winery has 29 hectares of production premises below ground. We walked for about two hours, but did not feel tired at all, whether it was due to the air or to ventilation there. Besides, curiosity did not allow us to get tired, I believe. Our curiosity was duly awarded. We managed to find out many interesting things about how the wines are brewed and bottled. Who could have thought the process requires so much tedious attitude and care! I think I will have more appreciation to a bottle of sparkling wine now and will consume it not bottoms up, but sipping and enjoying every moment of this “Drink of Gods”.

During our winery tour the guide warned us about taking pictures. It is prohibited to take pictures inside the production premises, where the workers operate robots and other machines. I think it is connected with flash that can blind operators, and thus interfere with production process. In spite of the warning, I managed to take a picture of a female worker doing visual control of filled bottles. No flash was needed/allowed. Taking pictures of the corridors and bottle storage shop is not prohibited.

08b2e8b0-a791-11e9-a50e-59bf757806ec.jpg

The old gypsum tunnels are also known as the place of mass executions during the Second World War. There is a memorial to the Innocent Victims of Nazism here. You can see three white figures of victims and candles installed onto the wall. There is a Book of Mourning in front of the memorial. The inscription on the memorial plaque reads, “Here, during the period of the temporary Nazi occupation, within the period from January 5 through 9, 1942,over 3,000 Soviet citizens were barbarically slaughtered. The residents of Artemivsk shall never forget that unheard-of atrocity of Nazi invaders. Eternal Glory to you, innocent victims of fascism.”
There is another memorial plaque near that one. It is the memorial plaque to hundreds of Jewish residents of Artemivsk massacred here during the last war. The Hebrew and Russian inscriptions on the white memorial plaque with the Star of David read,
“May God remember the souls of the Jews! Amen!”
The Winery Foundation Memorial with the year 1950 is next to the war memorial.

090882c0-a791-11e9-9ea7-1563a5c5cdb8.jpg08eff1b0-a791-11e9-8610-5ba3a01e8ed6.jpg
During the winery tour at the war memorial

During the winery tour at the war memorial


Winery tour reservation: Winery Tours Address:87 Patris Lumumba Street; Phone:+38 /0627/ 49-8595.

08217e20-a791-11e9-821e-9bbcda9c3a70.jpg081a7940-a791-11e9-aaab-1b6dbc5db90e.jpg
At the entrance to the winery

At the entrance to the winery

0951e7d0-a791-11e9-9ea7-1563a5c5cdb8.jpg

The city of Bakhmut boasts of such architectural landmarks as:

  • St.Nicolas Church dedicated in 1797;
  • Belfry of St.John the Baptist Church (the church was dedicated in 1861);
  • All Saints Church dedicated in 1903;
  • Assumption of the Most Holy Mother of God Church dedicated in 1903.

The Winery is undoubtedly the city sight #1.

You can also pay a visit to the Local Lore Museum+38 06274 2 25 95; +38 06274 2 19 68; 26 Sovietskaya Street.

The city observes its City Day on the second Saturday of September after September 1. The city’s coat-of-arms was adopted on March 26, 1996. The local deputes approved the resolution on using the old coat-of-arms of Bakhmut, as the city was called before 1924 and as it will be called since 2016, when the Ukrainian Parliament approves of the local deputies resolution to return to the historical name of the city.

City symbols

City symbols

The coat-of-arms symbolizes natural richness of the Bakhmut Area: coal (black) and fertility of vegetation (green). You can see the chemical sign of salt in the middle. Bakhmut District has its own coat-of-arms and flag too. They have similar symbolism plus wheat ears and the sun with wheat ears as its rays.

divider_39.JPGdivider_39.JPGdivider_39.JPG

Posted by Vic_IV 00:50 Archived in Ukraine Comments (2)

(Entries 1 - 3 of 3) Page [1]